Pikachu 3DS XL Unboxing

Today I was able to procure the brand new Pikachu 3DS XL from my local Target!

new3dsxl_pikachuyellowedition_box-0

I was so excited to get one, considering I missed out on the very, very, very limited edition Pikachu 3DS that was released in 2012.  The one released in 2012 was so limited some stores only got one in stock when it was first released and didn’t get anymore in.  You can still try and purchase the 2012 edition, but good luck.  If you happen to have more than $450, then most likely you will be able to get one.

This current Pikachu is more available that it’s predecessor, but the Target I hauled ass to this morning had only five in stock, and yours truly bought the first one.  Here are some photos of the model.

Side by Side comparison:

Here is the side by side comparison next to my current 3DS.

img_3980

The model I have is the Animal Crossing Happy Home Designer.  It has interchangeable plates, which explains why it currently has a Monster Hunter one on it.  Once the data is transferred, I will be trading my DS to a Gamestop, but will post all the spare face plates on Ebay.

Here is the screen side by side comparison.

IMG_3981.jpg

Obviously since it’s an XL, bigger screen vs my current model.

And here is what it looks like when you look at the back side.

img_3982

You can see where some of the Pikachu overlaps in the back.

I also made a quick unboxing video for this.  It’s probably the shortest one I’ve done.  The release of this DS also kicks off the weekend as Sunday is Pokemon Day.  Many retailers are having sales on all things Pokemon and have many giveaways as well.  A full list can be found on pokemon.com.

Leave a Reply

