You Should Be Watching

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a “you should be watching” post.  Only recently have I been catching up on and starting various shows (with having my weekends free now).  This blog post will just showcase/suggest one show for now, because I’ve been binge watching it for the past week.  There are other shows lined up, but this will have to do for now.

YURI!!! ON ICE

yuri-on-ice-header-001-20160821

Professional Japanese ice skater Yuri Katsuki suffers a massive defeat at the Grand Prix competition.  Having mixed feelings about ice skating in general, Yuki quits and goes off to college.  After graduating, he returns home after being away for five years.  After a chance video posting on Youtube of him copying his idol’s routine from the last Grand Prix, Yuri’s world is about to turn upside down.

Yuri!!! On Ice is currently streaming on Crunchyroll and it’s got me hooked.  While it has some general elements of what I like in anime (handsome bishonen guys and yaoi), I like how it’s subject matter involves mens competitive figure skating.  It’s never been done before (at least from what I’ve seen or heard about), so it’s different and refreshing in that aspect.  It brings me back to when I was kid and would watch figure skating during the Olympics with my mom.  While I didn’t care that much about women’s figure skating, I always liked watching the mens.  One of my favorite skaters was Elvis Stojko from Canada.

Currently, there are only nine episodes (nine was uploaded to Crunchyroll Wednesday).  The show has a lot of heart, hilairity and hijinks ensue, and there is plenty of eye candy for the ladies.

jp3asmi

And even though I already did my 30 day anime challenge entry for best male character and anime crush, I have another one to add to the list by way of Yuri’s idol, Russian skater Victor Nikiforov (in case you haven’t figured out whose naked in said photo above… =P).

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640

I highly recommend Yuri!!! On Ice.  It has a little something for everyone with great story with heart, and characters you cannot stop cheering for.  It even invokes real reactions like you would watching real figure skating (those ooooohhhs when they do good, and awwwwwws when they fall).  The music is very well done, using various classical pieces when the skaters compete.  The opening and ending themes are amazing as well.  I leave you all with the closing theme, “You Only Live Once.”  Check out Yuri!!! On Ice.  Highly enjoyable.

 

One thought on “You Should Be Watching

Leave a Reply

