Live Action Ghost in the Shell Trailer Debuts

*Warning: Images of Nudity, may be NSFW.”

So the day after I post a blog about possibly changing my mind about the live action Ghost in the Shell live action movie based on a featurette and maybe hopes of a potential turn around once I see an actual trailer; I get my wish.

An official trailer debut this morning after it was showcased during a live event in Tokyo.  If you haven’t seen it yet, here is your first look.

So after watching this a few times, I pretty much take back what I said in my previous rant blog from April.  Now of course, I have to actually go see the movie; but this trailer gave a bunch of nice anime references for those of us who are familiar with the 1995 original film.  I did take some comparison screenshots.

Opening sequence, Motoko’s creation:

Anime:

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-4-03-29-pm

Live Action:

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-3-57-24-pm

Motoko’s Decent:

Anime:

judgment-ghost-in-the-shell-2a6dfeba_00-02-21-644_01

Live Action:

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-3-55-56-pm

Inside Motoko’s Apartment:

Anime:

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-4-31-20-pm

Live Action:

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-3-56-44-pm

To top this all off, there was also a live performance by the movies composer, Kenji Kawai. What makes this really special and amazing is he used the original music from the anime movie’s opening sequence, and played it along side the opening sequence of the live action movie.  The best version of it I could find was on Twitter from The Nerdist’s senior editor, Dan Casey.

You can also find this on Youtube from IGN, but some of the shots are so dark it gets drowned out.  I also found a video of just the musicians and the choir.  I’ll tell you what, if gave me chills.

What is even more amazing it that the opening sequence for the film is almost shot by shot of the original anime.  Here’s the original anime if you would like to compare.  The video is NSFW for nudity. Sequence starts in at about 4:12.

So again, as I said in my previous blog, I take back everything I said.  I will go see this movie.  While it seems to add a new story about The Major’s past, it kept a lot of the story elements that made the original anime such a classic.

Ghost in the Shell stars Scarlett Johansson, Michael Wincott, Takeshi (Beat) Kitano, and Pilou Asbaek.  It arrives in theaters March 31st, 2017.

Leave a Reply

