Day Two:Favorite Anime You’ve Watched So Far

So here we are at day two of the 30 day Anime challenge.  Day two was a little challenging and I don’t know the rules on whether or not you’re just supposed to pick one anime for each day.  I am going to bend the rules for this entry and for a couple others on the list.  In the past year or so, I’ve watched more anime thanks to streaming services like Crunchyroll and Hulu.  So it was had to really narrow it down to just one favorite anime from the ones I’ve watched this year. So here are my top three favorite anime I’ve watched for the past year.

Sailor Moon Crystal, Season 3:

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 8.53.07 AM

I did enjoy seasons 1 and 2 of Sailor Moon Crystal despite its many animation flaws, and the fact that I didn’t really care too much for the Senshi’s transformations being in 3D.  Season 3 was a vast improvement and really showed that Toei Animation did listen to many complaints/concerns put forward by the fans.  Season 3 covers the Infinity story arc which took place during volumes 7-10 (original manga run) or if you collected the 20th anniversary editions, volumes 6-8.  It did go back to its 1990s predecessors roots by making all the Senshi’s transformations in 2D (hand drawn).  It was also nice to see a fresh take on the Outer Senshi, especially seeing my favorites Uranus and Saturn with their updated forms.  It does look like Toei will proceed in making season 4 soon, as the last episode of season 3 teased Pegasus/Helio’s appearance.

My Love Story:

aw4titbsvbwovp4zpwra

Although it was last year that I finished this anime, its story and characters had made it that much more memorable that I had to place it here among my recent favorites.  My Love Story tells the story of Takeo Goda, a high schooler with a massive body structure and a massive heart to match.  He has a lot of guy friends who worship him for his strength and athleticism.  But he has the worst luck when it comes to girls.  Whenever he wanted to confess his feelings to a girl he likes, they would always pick his good looking friend Sunakawa instead.  His luck would change though when he saves the innocent Yamato from a train groper.  This show has all the elements of a perfect, real life Shojo story.  Boy falls in love with girl.  Thinks she falls in love with his friend.  Hilarious situations ensue. It also plays on the innocent, sometimes extremely shy take on how actual relationships are in Japan.  While I was sad it only ran 12 episodes, the manga has been suffice enough; although that has also ended as of this July.  I haven’t spoiled myself yet by searching the internet with the ending, as I want to find out for myself when the time comes.

Himouto! Umaru-Chan:

tumblr_nr6ndeepus1u21ng6o1_540

This show is bonkers, and I absolutely loved every minute of it.  Just the GIF alone that I posted above from the opening sequence was enough to get me hooked on the first episode.  I am not real big on anime comedies, but this one took the cake.  Plus with all the fangirl hijinks of Umaru, I related to her all too well.  The show follows her, a perfect girl with beautiful looks and awesome grades.  But when she returns to the apartment that she shares with her brother, Taihei; she reverts to a midget version herself and is a full fledge gamer/Otaku.  She eats nothing but snacks, plays games on her console and PC, reads a ton of manga (the manga she reads is a spoof version of One Piece), annoying Taihei to no end with her demands.  Eventually their friends get to see her two sides, but the humor is they never make the connection that Perfect Umaru and Otaku Umaru are one and the same person.  A great show if you enjoy Otaku/Game/fangirl and Fanboy humor.

Well, that is day 2 of the Anime challenge.  Hope you enjoyed it!  Hope to have day three up soon.

Leave a Reply

