Happy 15th Anniversary Animal Crossing

Yesterday marked the 15th anniversary of one of my most favorite game franchises of all time: ANIMAL CROSSING!!  The first game was released on April 14, 2001 for the N64.  The game was only available in Japan, but got it’s first American release on September 15th, 2002 for the Nintendo Gamecube.

My first encounter with Animal Crossing was through the first DS version of the game.  At the time of it’s release, I never heard of it until Brad (my husband) had mentioned he wanted it as a Christmas present.  After he started playing, I picked up the game myself and was instantly hooked.  It was extremely Kawaii (cute), fun, and like many other players, I practically worked my ass off to pay off my loan from Tom Nook so I can get my house.  And then do it all over again many times when he “offered” to upgrade my house. I also purchased the recent 3DS version, and still check my town and talk to my neighbors everyday.  You can imagine my disbelief when Phineas (a character in the game) handed me a gold badge for playing over 150 hours… 150 HOURS!!!  But then I realized I’ve been playing the game since it’s release in June 2013.  But still, 150 HOURS!!!!  I have also started playing Happy Home Designer, and have been trying to complete my collection of all three Amiibo card series (you can see my unboxing video in a previous blog post).  The game it really unique, as it lets you try your chops at interior design.  Animal Crossing has also claimed the free time of my niece and nephew, who love both games with a passion.  It has even taught my nephew Ian on how create ideas so he can make more “Bells” (currency found in AC).

As a treat, Nintendo of Japan released a retrospective video on their Youtube channel.  Here it is for your viewing pleasure (if you haven’t seen it already).

Here is the order of every single game along with its release date.

*Animal Crossing: April 14th, 2001 (N64, Japan only)

*Animal Crossing: September 15th, 2002 (Gamecube)

*Animal Crossing Wild World: December 5th, 2005 (Nintendo DS)

*Animal Crossing City Folk: November 16th, 2008 (Nintendo Wii)

*Animal Crossing New Leaf: June 9th, 2013 (Nintendo 3DS)

*Animal Crossing Plaza: August 7th, 2013 (Nintendo Wii U)

*Animal Crossing Happy Home Designer: September 25th, 2015 (New Nintendo 3DS)

*Animal Crossing Amiibo Festival: November 13th, 2015 (Nintendo Wii U)

Animal Crossing has had quite the popularity surge recently and it will continue.  It’s so popular in Japan that after the release of the Wii and DS version, there was even an animated movie made!!!  Of course I didn’t find this out until recently.  The trailer is below and you can find the movie in parts on Youtube.

I really hope there will be more Animal Crossing games in the future.  With the announcement that Nintendo is working on their new console, the NX, I think it’s about time we get a brand new Animal Crossing at launch.  Happy Anniversary Animal Crossing!!!

animal-crossing

Source: ANN, Twitter.

Leave a Reply

