A Proper Response to a “Joke.”

While I usually dedicate this blog as a means to share my love for Anime and all things Japanese, I am a nerd in my own right in other things as well.  Many of my influences include the following: Doctor Who, Disney, Friendship is Magic, Nintendo, World of Warcraft, Jem and the Holograms (not the recent GOD awful movie, but the original 80’s cartoon), various Cartoon Network shows, and last but not least the biggest influence that started it all, Star Wars.  Having vaguely remember seeing Return of the Jedi by way of Betamax when I was four, its movies has left an impression on me (though I will have to admit the prequels were just meh and Jar Jar Binks needed to die).

So as I came home from work today and started checking Facebook, I noticed Star Wars trending in my feed.  Of course it’s not unusal, considering The Force Awakens will be released three weeks from today.  So, of course risking it being click bait, I clicked anyway.

So here’s the story. Commentator/”reporter” Katherine Timpf from Fox News (not surprised) made a joke towards Star War Fans that did come off very mockingly, including to yours truly.

Her joke, quoted: “I have never had any interest in watching space nerds poke each other with their little space nerd sticks, and I’m not going to start now. You people are crazy.”

So, of course, while many people were offended; most of them decided to vent their fustration and take it up to the next level, by way of death and rapes threats.  I for one disagree with this. You don’t threaten anyone this way, no matter how pissed you are about “said” comment or situation. By doing this, you’re just making everyone else look bad on top of making others think that EVERY Star War Fan thinks this way.  It’s like the quote, “Guilty by association.” As a fan, I was pissed, but it really didn’t warrent that level of response.  Though her retort didn’t help either.

Retort: “I said was that I wasn’t familiar with Star Wars because I’ve been too busy liking cool things and being attractive.”

Um, okay?

Anyway, here is how I respond to this.

Dear Katherine,

While it’s okay to have an opinion (as my mother said, opinions are like assholes.  Everyone’s got one), and say you don’t like Star Wars, that’s cool.  If you had just said you don’t like it, I would respect your opinion and move on.  What I don’t like is the manner in which you proceeded to mock us, that we’re just “little space nerds” who like to poke each other with our “little nerd sticks,” that we’re crazy, are not attractive, and don’t do cools things.

Wrong.  Absolutely wrong.

To all of us, Stars Wars is a cool thing.  Quite frankly, I would rather be a “Little Space Nerd” playing with my really AWESOME LIGHTSABER, learning the ways of the Force, and be ATTRACTIVE AS FUCK doing it.  I am not ashamed to call myself a Nerd or a Geek.  Most of us are quite normal really, we just have different outlooks on life that are bit more imaginative than others. Not all of us are death threating internet trolls.  But you go ahead and do whatever “cool thing” it is that you do, if insulting others is considered “cool.”  All I have to say is you’re missing out.

tfa_poster_wide_header-1536x864-959818851016

Leave a Reply

