The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki

First reported this morning by the Nerdist, and the Anime News Network; this is amazing news for any fan of Miyazaki.  While I am still wanting to buy all of his films on Blu ray (after selling my regular DVD’s because reasons), this is great since I can now acquire all the films at once.

Disney is partnering up with Amazon to release the blu ray box set, “The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki.” It will only be an exclusive release from Amazon and will ship November 17th.  This is similar to the box set that was released in Japan in June 2014, and in Australia this past April.  This is what the box set includes:

*All 11 Miyazaki films from The Castle of Cagliostro to The Wind Rises

*Episodes 26, 27, and 41 of the anime series Akado Suzunosuke, which Miyazaki storyboarded.

*A pilot episode of Yuki no Taiyo, which Miyazaki storyboarded and directed.

*A video of Miyazaki’s retirement press conference in it’s entirety.

*An exclusive booklet, The Great Dichotomy: Looking at the Works of Hayao Miyazaki by Tomohiro Machiyama.

There is no listing on yet on Amazon, though I am sure soon they will have preorders up soon.  You can bet I will be throwing my money at this one, but it will be so worth it.  The set looks amazing at least according to this press photo from the Nerdist.


Source: The Nerdists, Anime News Network


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s